When we cease to grow, we begin to die (Mortimer Adler).

If a rosebud ceases to grow it will perish. When we do nothing to actively make progress towards worthwhile predetermined goals, our thinking begins to slip and our actions will always follow our thinking.

The mind can atrophy, like the muscles, if it is not used. Atrophy of the mental muscles is the penalty that we pay for not taking mental exercise. And this is a terrible penalty, for there is evidence that atrophy of the mind is a mortal disease. There seems to be no other explanation for the fact that so many busy people die so soon after retirement. They were kept alive by the demands of their work upon their minds; they were propped up artificially, as it were, by external forces. But as soon as those demands cease, having no resources within themselves in the way of mental activity, they cease thinking altogether, and expire. (Adler)

In my past, rising to new and better levels was the furthermost thing from my mind, yet alone attempting to overcome obstacles and challenges to get there.  As a leader with many years of personal experience both in the corporate world and as a pastor and teaching professor I was the product of many “personal improvement” courses and was quite comfortable just “being who I was” or had become. I felt that in general I was “doing okay”… that is until my rude awakening…

I had the good fortune of being introduced to something called the Mental Fitness Challenge. If you’ve ever heard of the P90X Home Fitness System, this is a similar system but for the brain. It consists of targeted, intense 90 day mental workouts that focus on 13 areas of discipline that each of us need to live the life we’ve always wanted, yet most of us lack.  I thought I was doing pretty good in most areas of my life, but knew there were definitely some areas where I had made repeated mistakes that could do with some adjustment. It was specifically for those areas that I was motivated to give the MFC a shot. Well, to my utmost surprise, I discovered through MFC’s brilliant systematically designed Self Assessment Test, that I had overrated myself in virtually every area if my personal and leadership ability, AND my character. It was time to go to work on myself (again) but this time I would not have to flounder around on my own in the dark trying to figure out how to get better at life.

From Insurmountable Obstacle to Unsurpassed Support.

With MFC, not only do I get the information I need to correct the flat spots, I also receive continued support and accountability through Listening, Reading, Watching and Associating. I felt that owed it to my wife and best friend I could ever have Janice, to my children and grandchildren, to my friends, to invest in myself becoming the best that I could be in every area of life. I realized I could become someone who is loved and admired by my family and friends and that I could leave a legacy of influence that would in a small way help the world to be a better place.  I am truly thankful to my friends Kirk and Nicole Porter for introducing Janice and me to this incredible group of world class, caring individuals, and for their support and encouragement on this journey to freedom.

If you in any way can identify with my story, or if you simply want to challenge yourself mentally to rise to greater levels of influence and success, I challenge you to take the Mental Fitness Challenge. Author of “FreedomShift”, and “A Thomas Jefferson Education” Oliver DeMille warns that we are heading for a socioeconomic collapse if we don’t make some significant changes in our thinking. Life founders Orrin Woodward and Chris Brady take this truth beyond the warning by providing a systematic achievable program to implement the steps DeMille implores us to take to avoid the crisis.

Here’s How It Works

  1. Watch some introductory videos to the mental fitness challenge.  Mental Fitness Challenge
  2. Enroll in the Pre challenge and take the Test.  The test scores you in 13 areas of your life and gives you feedback through the circle of Life Diagram on your top three strengths and three areas you are weak.
  3. Signup for the Mental Fitness Challenge  Mental Fitness Challenge
    1. Take the 90 day Challenge to create a habit of learning.
    2. Get connected to someone in the Life Community to help you stay accountable.
    3. Join a challenge group where you will associate with others.
    4. Come experience a community of positive change and growth.

I invite you to take this challenge and welcome you to The Life You’ve Always Wanted!

If you are already a part of the MFC I welcome your comments and feedback on your experience on this blog.

[Widget_Twitter id=”1″]

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When we cease to grow, we begin to die (Mortimer Adler).

  1. Kirk porter says:

    Awesome stuff!!!

    Like

  2. Nicole Porter says:

    Wow!!!! Awesome blog!! Perfect way to sum up
    the MFC! Your transparency is inspiring but encouraging!
    We all have areas to strive for excellence in!! Thank you
    for your leadership and your persistence!!!
    God Bless,
    Nicole

    Like

Leave a Reply

